Home - ARLH 206 - Modern Architecture I: 1750-1900 - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

About

Welcome to the Research Guide for ARLH 206 - Modern Architecture I: 1750-1900

Hotel de Brunoy. Etienne-Louis Boullee. 1775. Via SCAD Digital Image Database.

Other Guides

Get Started

Just getting started? These academic art dictionary and encyclopedias are great sources for trustworthy information when first researching an artist, a medium, or a time period.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Smarthistory
Smarthistory is a non-profit collaboration that brings art's global history to everyone—for free.

Heilbrunn Timeline This link opens in a new window
Interactive timeline of global art history illustrated by items in The Met's collection and accompanied by essays by experts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Arts Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met's collections. This platform is a reference, research, and teaching tool for students and scholars of art history. The timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. Essays focus on specific themes in art history, including artistic movements and artists; historical and archaeological sites; empires and civilizations; recurrent themes and concepts; and media and material. Works of art from around the world and from all eras are contextualized chronologically, geographically, and thematically. Chronologies provide a linear outline of art history by geographical region and each include representative works of art, a timeline, an overview, and key events. Keywordscategorized by art movement, style, creator, geography, time period, material and technique, object, and subject matterfurther connect chronologies, essays, and works of art.

Recommended Resource: archINFORM

This database for international architecture, originally emerging from records of interesting building projects from architecture students, has meanwhile become the largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present.

archINFORM includes information over more than 81000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners.

archINFORM
This database includes information over more than 44000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.

Librarian

Virginia Seymour

Email Me

Need Additional Help? Meet With A Librarian

If you would like in-depth help with research, make an appointment with your librarian by completing the online form at the link below:

Request A Consultation