Find Articles

Architectural Magazines and Journals

Explore a wide variety of online and printed magazines and journals through these lists:

Architectural History & Preservation Design
Architecture & Urban Design
Art History

Use these databases to find articles on modern architecture. To view all architectural history databases, visit: Architectural History Databases.

Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and RILA
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Bibliography of the History of Art contains over 1,200 abstracts from European and America art literature from 1975 to 2007. For help using Getty Research Institute resources, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Oxford Art Online
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, look for PDF links.

In Catalog+, clicking the title of an article may take you directly to the article. If a catalog record appears instead, look for the green Article link. Click to access the article. There may be multiple options for access in different databases.

If no online options exist at SCAD, search the publication's title in journal title search to see if it is available in print.

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links? Ask A Librarian!

What is a Scholarly Source?

A scholarly source is an academic book or article written by an expert, reviewed by other experts, published by a scholarly publisher. The purpose of a scholarly source is to inform an audience and advance scholarship. To identify a scholarly source, look for:

Author - expert author in the field
Peer-review - reviewed by other experts before publication
Publisher - academic publisher like a university press or academic journal
Sources - attribution given to the sources referenced by the author

Can I use sources that don't meet these criteria?

It depends! Your professor will give you specific instructions about the types of sources you can and cannot use for an assignment. If you are allowed to use non-scholarly sources, it is still important to check that the source is trustworthy. Consider:

Who is the author? Are they an expert?
Who is the publisher? Is it an established, informative source I can trust?
Does it cite sources? Can I trace the information back to it's original creator?
How old is it? Has information changed since it was published? Could bias or past beliefs shape the conclusions drawn by the author?
What is the purpose? Is it to inform and advance scholarship?

Three Prong Test Document
Use this to test if your Scholarly article is Peer-Reviewed or not. Remember that there will be articles that may be in a Peer-Reviewed Journal but that does not make it an acceptable article.

ARLH 206 - Modern Architecture I: 1750-1900

Ask A Librarian

Search Now

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Architectural Magazines and Journals

Find Articles

Accessing Full Text

What is a Scholarly Source?