Research Guides: Fashion: Construction and Materials

Books on Fashion Construction and Materials

Couture Sewing Series by Claire B. Shaeffer
Detailed explanations of couture sewing and tailoring techniques, written by a fashion historian and couture garment collector
Pattern Magic Series
Japanese pattern making books showcasing unique ways to manipulate fabrics for sculptural effects.
Draping: The Complete Course
Call Number: TT520 .K545 2013
Classic Tailoring Techniques for Menswear
Call Number: TT580 .C3 2015
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory
Call Number: TS1309 .B34 2011
Guide to fabrics' properties. characteristics, and garment design potential.

Detail of Lady's Silk Bodice, c.1890-1899. Image via Digital Image Database, Collection of SCAD Museum of Art

Digital Image Database This link opens in a new window
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

To access digital images of garments held in the SCAD Museum of Art's costume collection:

Click on any image to see additional details. Right-click on any image to download it.