News and Additional Sources - FASM 245 - Retail Buying Simulation - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Types of Periodicals

Popular Magazine

Published by... a commercial firm/ company

Written by... journalists

Written to... entertain a general audience

Articles include... attention-grabbing content and advertisements

Language is... basic with no advanced terms

Trade Magazine/ Journal

Published by... a commercial firm or professional organization

Written by... professionals in the field or field-specific journalists

Written to... inform an audience of practitioners

Articles include... in-depth information and advertisements but usually no citations

Language is... accessible with field-specific terms

Scholarly/ Academic Journal

Published by... a university or academic association

Written by... researchers and scholars

Written to... inform an audience of students and scholars

Articles include... abstracts, citations, but no advertisements

Language is... advanced with field-specific terms

Fashion and Design Periodicals

Fashion magazines are a great source for current trends, news, and visual inspiration. Many are not available online. Find them in the Jen Library in these locations...

Current magazines: Second floor, across from the elevators
Back issue magazines (older than 6 months - 1 year): Second floor, across from the staircase
Reserve magazines: Select magazines are located behind the 1st floor service desk. Ask staff for them by title.

Magazines are shelved alphabetically by their titles.

Fashion, Accessories & Luxury Periodicals
Print and online periodicals available via Jen Library

Trade Magazines

Accessories (online and in print in Jen Library)
Accessories Magazine is the leading trade publication in the women's fashion accessories industry.
Footwear News (online and in print at Jen)
Footwear News is a leading shoe magazine that covers the latest in shoe industry business, trends, runway and street fashion, as well as key influencers.
Highsnobiety (in print in Jen Library)
Highsnobiety is a magazine covering forthcoming trends and news in fashion, art, music, and culture.
Stores (online)
Stores magazine gives an insider’s view of the entire retail industry by featuring the latest trends, hottest ideas, current technologies and consumer attitudes.
World Footwear (in print in Jen Library)
Information, news, events and statistics on the footwear sector worldwide.

Locate Magazines / Periodicals By Title

Search below for journals, magazines and newspapers by title (e.g., Design Issues, Artforum, New York Times).

Search for printed periodicals

Newspapers in the Library

All major newspaper articles are available via Nexis Uni, including current and historical articles.

Nexis Uni
Database of newspaper articles, magazine articles, legal documents, and company financial information from around the world.
Nexus Uni provides both historical and current news from publications around the world. U.S. government, legal, and financial documents are also available through Nexus Uni. The platform can be searched in a variety of ways, including by keyword, publication, and time period. For help using Nexus Uni, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni
Database of newspaper articles, magazine articles, legal documents, and company financial information from around the world.
Nexus Uni provides both historical and current news from publications around the world. U.S. government, legal, and financial documents are also available through Nexus Uni. The platform can be searched in a variety of ways, including by keyword, publication, and time period. For help using Nexus Uni, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Business of Fashion (BoF)

Business of Fashion
Daily resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs in over 200 countries.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD)

Women's Wear Daily
Online magazine providing fashion business news and women's fashion trends for industry professionals.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD) includes fashion news, history, business insights, and more for women's fashion and the global fashion industry. Articles, videos, and images are added daily, offering trustworthy, up-to-date information for designers, marketers, retailers, and other industry professionals. For help using Women's Wear Daily, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current year, reproduced in high-resolution images.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the fashion and retail publication Womens Wear Daily (WWD). This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for fashion, business, and history. Scans of every page are included in high-resolution, with searchable text and indexing for each article, advertisement, and cover. Take research deeper by cross-searching with other the Vogue Archive, arts indexes, historical periodicals, and newspapers in other ProQuest databases. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

WWD - Print Edition
Printed copies of WWD are available at the Jen Library, from 1990 to present

FASM 245 - Retail Buying Simulation