Trend & Sourcing Information - FASM 310 - Private Label Product Development - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Import/Export Resources

CIA: The World Factbook
Provides a brief overview of a country including history, government & geography
OTEXA: U.S. Trade Office of Textiles and Apparel
U.S. trade statistics, agreements, and reference material

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal that aggragates data from reliable sources into industry reports, statistics, and charts.
Statista covers a wide array of industries, demographics, and geographical areas. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Information used for Statista reports and charts is pulled from market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data is available through a Creative Commons license for download to spreadsheets and slide presentations. For information about using Statista, visit: Working With Statista.

Harmonized Tariff Schedule: Identify HTS Codes

HTS Code Search The complete listing of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) codes

The Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) is a system used to consistently describe globally traded products. Each product type has its own HTS code. The longer the code number, the more specific the product type.

Tip: For more consistent search results in Panjiva, try searching by HTS code, rather than product name.

Example code ranges for apparel industries:

Codes 6101 through 6117 - Knitted or crocheted apparel and accessories
6201 through 6217 - Non-knitted/ non-crocheted apparel and accessories
6401 through 6406 - Footwear

U.S. International Trade Commission: HTS By Chapter
Find the duty rates in this chapter-by-chapter listing of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule.
What is a HTS code?
A helpful explanation of HTS codes from the International Trade Administration that includes short videos.

Online Trend Resource: WGSN

WGSN - Account Creation and Reactivation This link opens in a new window
Create a personal account using your SCAD email address. Once created, accounts must be reactivated every 90 days. Click the link above to get started.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.

WGSN - How-To
Learn how to create or re-activate a WGSN personal account in order to access the full array of WGSN features.

Sourcing Journal

Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Online resource for apparel and textile professionals focused on sourcing and manufacturing.
Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Sourcing Journal knows that intelligent business decisions are based on strategic, time-sensitive information. This database contains fashion business news, apparel, denim, footwear, and textile reports, webinars, podcasts, market, material, industry, and sourcing data.

Panjiva

Panjiva This link opens in a new window
Website with material and product sourcing information for a variety of industries across the globe.
Panjiva provides a platform to research suppliers and buyers as well as gain commercial product, shipment, and import/export data. For more information about Panjiva, view recorded tutorials and handouts at the Panjiva Support Center.