Research Guides: Creative Business Leadership : Data Visualization

Books About Data Visualization

Browse the Shelves

NC997 Commercial art
QA76.9 Science - other topics. Data
P93.5 Communication. Mass media. Data
TK7882 Computer. Information display

SCAD Libraries Books about Data Visualization

Selecting a Visualization Type

Choosing the Right Chart
Abela, A.(2006). The Extreme Presentation (tm) Method. Choosing a good chart.
The Data Visualisation Catalogue
Helps select an appropriate chart type and provides links to tools.
The Data Viz Project
Can help identify which type of visualization is most appropriate for your data.
The Eyes Have it: A Task by Data Type Taxonomy for Information Visualizations
Shneiderman, B. (1996, September). This paper offers a task by data type taxonomy with seven data types, and an explanation of how these correspond to seven tasks.
Visual Vocabulary
Tableau Public's collection allows you to determine which type of chart shows the data relationship that is most important for your story.

SCAD Databases

Statista
Research database that offers expert-created maps, charts and infographics on topics.

Statista Explainer on Vimeo.

ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. The database covers visualization, gaming, CGI, social networks, and a wide range of subjects involving information and technology from 1936 to the present.
Communication Source
Communication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines, and other sources covering communications-related disciplines such as media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse. The database includes 150 full-text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases. Back file coverage includes top communication titles from the twentieth century. In addition to journal articles the database features a subject-specific thesaurus. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Guides and Tutorials

Berkeley Advanced Media Institute: Tutorials
Free web-based guides and tutorials.
Choosing Visual Properties for Successful Visualizations (PDF)
Noah Iliinsky, IBM Visualization expert, offers guidelines for selecting the right structure to communicate data effectively.
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) Design Manual
Guidelines for creating effective and consistent data visualizations.
DataViz Cheatsheet
Includes core principles of data visualization and discusses best practices.
Flowing Data Tutorials
An active visualization blog that often includes free tutorials and links to helpful resources. May also include tutorials available only for paid subscribers.
How to Pick the RIGHT Charts for your Data
Video tutorial from Venngage using the ICCORE method (Inform Compare, Change, Organize, Reveal Relationships, Explore)
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
Log in using SCAD email to access through SCAD's Academic Resource Network. Includes both general and tool-specific courses.
Tableau Public How-to Videos
Video materials to get started with using Tableau Public.
The 10 Commandments of Visual Communication
An infographic that serves as a layperson’s handbook of visual communication by Evan Brown
more...less...
.

Suggested Data Resources

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Includes data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Datacatalogs.org
One of the most comprehensive listings of open data catalogs in the world. Content is curated by a group of leading world open data experts including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organizations such as the World Bank, and numerous NGOs.
DataFinder
Search indicators and locations related to population, health, and the environment; easily create custom reports to print, download, and share.
Gallup - Global Datasets for Public Use
Powered by the Gallup World Poll, these datasets, collected on behalf of partners at different organizations, allow researchers to access data on a wide range of issues.
Gapminder Data
A non-profit organization that calls itself a “fact tank”. More than 500 world demographic indicators from the World Bank, Lancet and many other entities are available for download in Excel format, view or visualize.
General Social Survey (GSS) Data Explorer
Explore and analyze the GSS data, create data visualizations, and generate custom extracts to analyze in your statistical program.
Google Cloud Public Datasets
Offers a data repository of more than 100 public datasets from different industries, making it easy for you to access and uncover new insights in the cloud.
Google Open Images Dataset
Searchable collection of nearly 9 million varied images with rich annotations.
ImageNet
ImageNet is an image database organized according to the WordNet hierarchy (currently only the nouns), in which each node of the hierarchy is depicted by hundreds and thousands of images.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
Provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.
Kaggle
Community hub that offers a searchable database of open datasets on a variety of topics, including fashion, film, social media, etc.
Mendeley Data
Search 10.3 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories.
National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture
(NADAC) is a repository of open-access research data on arts and culture in the United States.
Pew Research Center Datasets
Offers free download of full datasets that underlie most Pew Research reports.
PSID
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States.
re3data.org
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines and has over 2000 data repositories.
Resource Center for Minority Data
ICPSR project focused on providing access to data and research related to race, ethnicity and communities of color.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (iPoll)
A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations.The collection includes over 23,000 datasets and nearly 800,000 questions with responses on a variety of topics.
Social Computing Data Repository
Hosts data from a collection of social media sites, including BlogCatalog, Twitter, MyBlogLog, Digg, StumbleUpon, del.icio.us, MySpace, LiveJournal, The Unofficial Apple Weblog (TUAW), Reddit, etc. Contains various facets of blog data including user defined tags, predefined categories, blog site description; date and time of posting; blog posts; blogger name; blog post comments; and blogger social networks.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis
Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
US Census Data
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
World Health Data Platform
Allows you to explore WHO's key data tools, data sets and databases
Yelp Open Dataset
A subset of Yelp's businesses, reviews, and user data for use in personal, educational, and academic purposes.