Research Guides: Sequential Art: Archives and Special Collections

Comics, Mini Comic, and Zine Collections

Sarah Morean Mini-Comics Collection
Call Number: MS 044

This collection dates from 1988 to 2012, with the bulk between 2005-2010. It consists of comic books, mini-comics, zines, anthologies, posters, prints, and correspondence. Many of these works were independently published, handmade, or self-published. There are standalone works alongside serial publications. The collection contains publicity, newspaper clippings containing comics, and posters of events. Also included is correspondence between Sarah Morean and contributors to the collection.
Collection of SCAD Student Mini-Comics and Zines
Call Number: MS 045

Mini-comics created by SCAD students since 2006.
Jen Library Mini-Comics and Zines Collection
Call Number: MS 050

Mini-comics and zines purchased by and donated to Jen Library Archives and Special Collections, dated 1973-2025.
Bedside Press Mini-Comics Collection
Call Number: MS 054

The collection consists primarily of mini-comics but includes some zines and anthologies. Dates range from 2011 to 2018, but most items were produced in 2014, 2016, and 2017, with approximately half undated. Subjects vary, however sci-fi and memoir are the most common genres, while gender, sexuality, and cultural identity are the most prevalent topics. This collection includes some fan works, as well. The creators represented in this collection include well-known mini-comic artists like Roberta Gregory, Robert Pasternak, Maia Kobabe, Hidenori Kusaka, Ajuan Mance, Dylan Meconis, Cole Pauls, as well as less-known artists often local to Winnepeg, like Murat Ates, Matthew Dyck, and Jamie Isfeld. Many of the creators publicly identify as asexual, agender, bisexual, gay, lesbian, queer, or trans and create work with related themes.

Coming soon:

Jeffrey Brewster Sequential Art Collection, MS 055

Don Bluth Collection of Animation

Color photocopy of a cel setup, Anastasia

The Don Bluth Studios Animation Archive came to the Savannah College of Art and Design as a donation from Don Bluth and Gary Goldman in fall of 2005. The collection consists of cels, animation drawings, storyboards, color models, and other materials created by Don Bluth Productions and later incarnations of this company in the creation of animated features and video games between 1979 and 2000. Also included in the collection are administrative, legal, and other documents, as well as scripts, concepts, and publicity related materials. The studio operated in both the United States and Ireland, and was, at various times, affiliated with other production companies. A preliminary inventory was completed by summer of 2006 and processing began in fall of that same year. Though the processing of the collection will continue for many years, materials already processed are available to researchers now.

Single Issue Comic Book Collections

We are constantly working to add the thousands of single issues found in the Sequential Art Collections to the library catalog so that you can see what titles are available for your research or reading pleasure. Here are a few examples:

Action Comics, 157 issues (1983-2009)

Batman, 179 issues (1968-2008)

Detective Comics, 160 issues (1986-2009)

Fantastic Four, 326 issues (1965-1998)

The Flash, 136 issues (1987-2007)

John Constantine: Hellblazer, 80 issues (1988-1998)

X-Factor, 61 issues (1986-1998)

For further information on available titles, please contact Special Collections.

IDW Artist Editions

"AN ARTIST’S EDITION PRESENTS COMPLETE STORIES WITH EACH PAGE SCANNED FROM THE ACTUAL ORIGINAL ART."
While appearing to be in black and white, each page was scanned in color to mimic as closely as possible the experience of viewing the actual original art—for instance, corrections and blue pencils. Each page is printed the same size as drawn, and the paper selected is as close as possible to the original art board.