SFLM 560 - Collaborations in Film and Acting - Costume Design

Learn how to create or re-activate a WGSN personal account in order to access the full array of WGSN features.

The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.

Spanning five centuries, our Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.

The Museum is aggressively building its permanent collection, focusing on "directional" fashion, i.e., the kind of fashion that makes fashion history. The permanent collection of The Museum at FIT currently includes more than 50,000 garments and accessories, dating from the 18th century to the present, with particular strength in modern and contemporary women's fashion.

With more than 50,000 costumes and textiles dating from the eighteenth century to the present, the Museum’s world-renowned Costume and Textiles collection is noted for both its size and the quality of its holdings.

The Fashion History Timeline is a project by FIT's History of Art Department. The Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of costume, dress, and textiles.

Explore all of the Smithsonian's digitized collections.

Download and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital collection items for free!

Public domain art images from Getty collections.

Includes 20,000+ open access digital images, available free of charge for download and use.

Free stock images and video browsable by color and collection.

1.9+ million royalty-free stock images with the ability to discover images by category and color.

Over a million high-resolution images to search and browse, from animals to textures to fashion.

Millions of high-resolution images of art, architecture, design, and more.

Images from several museums and collections. Item records indicate when an image is public domain and available for open access and fee-free use.

Through the use of CC licenses, millions of people around the world have made their photos, videos, writing, music, and other creative content available for any member of the public to use.