Research Guides: Animation: Databases

Essential Databases for Animation

ACM Digital Library
Research, discovery, and networking platform with full-text journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books in addition to abstracts from computing and information technology sources.
ACM Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. The database covers visualization, gaming, CGI, social networks, and a wide range of subjects involving information and technology from 1936 to the present.
Don Bluth Studios Animation Archive
Digitized collection consisting of cels, animation drawings, storyboards, color models, and other materials created by Don Bluth Productions and later incarnations of this company in the creation of animated features and video games between 1979 and 2000.
The Don Bluth Collection of Animationcame to SCAD in 2005 as a donation from Don Bluth and Gary Goldman. Also included in the Don Bluth Collection of Animation are administrative, legal, and other documents as well as scripts, concepts, and publicity related materials. The Bluth studio operated in both the United States and Ireland and was, at various times, affiliated with other production companies. A preliminary inventory was completed by summer of 2006 and processing began in fall of that same year. Though the processing of the collection will continue for many years, materials already processed are available to researchers now. For more information about SCAD special collections databases, visit the SCAD Special Collections Guide.
Humanities Source
EBSCO database containing the most noted scholarly sources in the arts and humanities, including full-text, citations, original works, and reviews.
Humanities Source includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Humanities Source is comprised of articles, interviews, obituaries, and bibliographies, as well as original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. The database also includes reviews of books, ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio, and television. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Luminate Film & TV
Business intelligence platform providing up-to-date information on the entertainment industry around the world.
Variety Insight is the leading entertainment data solution that provides verified, timely, and accurate metadata and insights on people, projects, and companies in the global entertainment business. Content on Varity Insight includes production details, release schedules, awards information, industry contacts, and more in the film, television, and digital media industries.
Oxford Art Online
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.