Find Articles - ARTH 374 - African Art: Beyond the Object - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Recommended Databases

Use these databases to find articles on African art. To view all art history databases, visit: Art History Databases

JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Oxford Art Online
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and RILA
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Bibliography of the History of Art contains over 1,200 abstracts from European and America art literature from 1975 to 2007. For help using Getty Research Institute resources, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Sabinet
Repository of indexed and full-text scholarly journals and trade publications based in Africa on a wide variety of subjects as well as material from the African Journal Archive.
Sabinet is an online provider of African academic and trade journals that includes full-text open access collections and an A-Z index of journals produced in Africa. Sabinet includes journals on a variety of subjects with particular emphasis on business and finance, education, labor, law, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, social science, and humanities. Also available through Sabinet is the African Journal Archive which is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent. For more information about using Sabinet, visit the African Journals User Guide.

Search Strategies

Customize your search to improve results. This is where your list of brainstormed keywords comes in handy!

Group keywords with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase. Example: “royal court”

Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases. Example: “royal court” AND Benin

Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term. Example: ibo OR igbo

Use the asterisk * if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword. Example: sculpt* = sculpture, sculptors, sculpted

Advanced Search features make it easy to narrow a large result list. For example:

Subject links limit results to a specific topic or discipline

Specify a publication date range

Search within the title of an article, the summary or the entire text

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, look for PDF links.

In Catalog+, clicking the title of an article may take you directly to the article. If a catalog record appears instead, look for the green Article link. Click to access the article. There may be multiple options for access in different databases.

If no online options exist at SCAD, search the publication's title in journal title search to see if it is available in print.

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links? Ask A Librarian!

ARTH 374 - African Art: Beyond the Object

Ask A Librarian

Recommended Magazines and Journals

Search Catalog+

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Recommended Databases

Search Strategies

Accessing Full Text