Find Articles - INDS 470 - Interior Design Studio V - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Interior Design Magazines and Journals

Explore a wide variety of online and printed magazines and journals through these lists:

Scholarly Interior Design Resources

Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
ProQuest index of scholarly and professional articles from design and craft publications.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) indexes journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items from 1973 to the present. Topics covered by DAAI include product, retail, industrial, package, book, textile, furniture, jewelry, fashion, graphic and interior design as well as ceramics, illustration, typography, architecture, advertising, animation, and much more. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Design Materials, Sourcing and Trends

MaterialDistrict
This materials database allows designers to locate ideal materials solutions for their material needs.

WGSN
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.
Sourcing Journal
Online resource for apparel and textile professionals focused on sourcing and manufacturing.
Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Sourcing Journal knows that intelligent business decisions are based on strategic, time-sensitive information. This database contains fashion business news, apparel, denim, footwear, and textile reports, webinars, podcasts, market, material, industry, and sourcing data.
Panjiva
Website with material and product sourcing information for a variety of industries across the globe.
Panjiva provides a platform to research suppliers and buyers as well as gain commercial product, shipment, and import/export data. For more information about Panjiva, view recorded tutorials and handouts at the Panjiva Support Center.

Statistics/Datasets

Looking for statistics, demographic data, environmental reports, or other datasets?

Statista
Statistics portal that aggragates data from reliable sources into industry reports, statistics, and charts.
Statista covers a wide array of industries, demographics, and geographical areas. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Information used for Statista reports and charts is pulled from market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data is available through a Creative Commons license for download to spreadsheets and slide presentations. For information about using Statista, visit: Working With Statista.
Passport (Euromonitor International)
Passport by Euromonitor International is a global market research database that provides industry data, country reports, and global reports as well as articles, statistics, and presentations about strategies, markets, companies, and trends.
Euromonitor International contains market analysis, distribution patterns, and sales forecasts. The platform provides detailed, in-depth analytic reports for both developed and emerging national markets as well as insights into consumer preferences and global market performance. This database includes information on national, company, and brand markets in addition to profiles of the top international companies in each industry. Beyond reports, Euromonitor provides articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics.

All Statistics Databases

Interior Design Industry Websites

Design Milk
Articles dedicated to modern design, Design Milk offers what's new in art, architecture, interior design, furniture and decor, fashion and technology.
Design Hunter
Blog covering interior design.
DeeZeen
Provides a carefully edited selection of the best architecture, design and interiors projects and news from around the world.
The Design Files
Blog written by an interior designer.
Interior Design Magazine
Interior Design is the global, industry-leading design magazine publication, website and events company serving the architecture and design industry.
i+s
i+s focuses exclusively on commercial interior designers and architects who have the decision making power to recommend and purchase products and services utilized in commercial structures.

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, look for PDF links.

In Catalog+, clicking the title of an article may take you directly to the article. If a catalog record appears instead, look for the green Article link. Click to access the article. There may be multiple options for access in different databases.

If no online options exist at SCAD, search the publication's title in journal title search to see if it is available in print.

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links? Ask A Librarian!

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.