Country Information - FASM 420 - Global Sourcing and Import Buying for Fashion - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

This page provides a variety of trustworthy sources of information for your country research.

Remember: it is important to use a variety of sources to verify the information you find. Start with these vetted resources and contact a librarian if you need further assistance.

Business Source Premier: Countries

Want to learn more about a country?

Select "Browse: Country Reports" on the Business Source Premier home page. Clicking on a country will give you country profiles as well as Background Notes, Political Risk Yearbooks, Country Fact Sheets, journal articles, and other key information.

Select the "Country" tab to view all documents related to the country you are researching.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and case studies as well as company, industry, market, and country reports.
Business Source Premier provides full-text articles back to 1886 for more than 2,000 journals, including full text for more than 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The database includes resources from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing and more. The database also includes other information sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group, and CountryWatch as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and Associate Press (AP) video content. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal that aggragates data from reliable sources into industry reports, statistics, and charts.
Statista covers a wide array of industries, demographics, and geographical areas. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Information used for Statista reports and charts is pulled from market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data is available through a Creative Commons license for download to spreadsheets and slide presentations. For information about using Statista, visit: Working With Statista.

Additional Websites for Country-Specific Research

CIA: The World Factbook
Provides a brief overview of a country including history, government & geography
International Monetary Fund (IMF) - Countries
Source of country reports providing detailed economic and social data
Business Ready (B-READY)
Country-specific analysis and ratings of business conditions, such as regulations and infrastructure
The Observatory of Economic Complexity
Visualization engine for international trade data
OTEXA: U.S. Trade Office of Textiles and Apparel
U.S. trade statistics, agreements, and reference material
Websites of Foreign Embassies in the U.S.
Use this list to locate foreign embassy websites, which provide news, economic, political and cultural information
Trading Economics
Information for 196 countries including exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices
Focus Economics
Detailed macroeconomic information by country and region
American Chamber of Commerce Directory
Locate the website for the American Chamber of Commerce within a chosen country. These sites are a source of current business news and developments there.