Find Articles - ARLH 208 - Modern Architecture II: 1900-Present - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Architectural Magazines and Journals

Explore a wide variety of online and printed magazines and journals through these lists:

Architectural History & Preservation Design
Architecture & Urban Design
Art History

Browse Databases

Use these databases to find articles on modern architecture. To view all architectural history databases, visit: Architectural History Databases.

Best Bets:

Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Also Recommended:

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
EBSCO database of full-text articles and abstracts across many disciplines, combining contents from other full-text EBSCO databases.
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
ProQuest index of scholarly and professional articles from design and craft publications.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) indexes journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items from 1973 to the present. Topics covered by DAAI include product, retail, industrial, package, book, textile, furniture, jewelry, fashion, graphic and interior design as well as ceramics, illustration, typography, architecture, advertising, animation, and much more. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and RILA
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Bibliography of the History of Art contains over 1,200 abstracts from European and America art literature from 1975 to 2007. For help using Getty Research Institute resources, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, look for PDF links.

In Catalog+, clicking the title of an article may take you directly to the article. If a catalog record appears instead, look for the green Article link. Click to access the article. There may be multiple options for access in different databases.

If no online options exist at SCAD, search the publication's title in journal title search to see if it is available in print.

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links? Ask A Librarian!

ARLH 208 - Modern Architecture II: 1900-Present

Ask A Librarian

Search Now

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Architectural Magazines and Journals

Browse Databases

Accessing Full Text