Extensive website containing free eBooks, images, video, audio, and other media to view and download. Also includes the Internet Wayback Machine, for accessing archived, past versions of websites.
Over 1 million images taken from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books, including illustrations, maps, photos and advertisements. All images are downloadable and without copyright restrictions.
Images from archives, museums, libraries and research centers such as the New York Public Library, Smithsonian, Library of Congress and Getty Research Institute. The images have no known copyright restrictions.
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
The Wellcome Library of Medical History provides images on themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Many of the images have creative commons licenses allowing re-use.
Online platform for discovering and collecting art, comprising 800,000+ artworks by 80,000+ artists from leading galleries, museums, foundations, and artists’ estates. Some images may be downloaded.
Nearly 2 million digital items like images and recordings from California museums, libraries, and archives — a quarter of which are in the public domain.
40,000+ high-resolution images of Asian and American art, may be used for any non-commercial purpose. Courtesy of the Smithsonian Institution's Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery.
Find images and other material across several of the Getty Museum's repositories. Note that some resources are copyrighted; please check rights statements before re-using material.
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
Links to a variety of journals that have been digitized and are available free to access on the Internet. The dates given are for the period covered by the digitization
400,000+ images from the Museum's collections. Some images may be used freely for non-commercial scholarly purposes; look for an "OASC" under the image to verify.
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955; from the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History
Collection focuses on comics created specifically for the web and supplements the Library of Congress’ extensive holdings in both comic books, graphic novels, and original comic art.
A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage with 34,000+ photos of 1,311 sites in 23 countries. Includes background information and virtual tours.
Collection documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes
Guide to more than 1,250 sacred sites, holy places, pilgrimage destinations, religious architecture and sacred art in over 60 countries around the world. In addition to richly illustrated articles, there are photo galleries containing over 24,000 high-quality images
Online map database with over 100,000 historical maps.
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection includes rare maps from around the world ranging in date from 1500 to the present with a focus on North and South America. This collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, books of exploration, maritime charts, and many other cartographic materials. The physical collection is maintained by Stanford University and is comprised of maps acquired and donated by collector David Rumsey.
Survey maps of Savannah’s wards prepared in 1939 and 1940 by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) as part of the three-year, $65,000 WPA Savannah Cadastral Survey project.
