Research Guides: Finding and Using Library Resources: Scholarly Publication Articles

Scholarly Articles

What makes an article scholarly?

It is written by an academic
It is published in an academic journal
It contains citations
It has been through Peer Review

Why use scholarly sources?

They are more credible than other sources
They have been thoroughly researched
The bibliographies lead to more sources

Source Evaluation

Need help identifying if an article is trustworthy and scholarly?

Pull the Source 'APART'

A - Authority
- Who is the author? Who is the publisher
P - Purpose
- What is the author's goal in writing this? Is it to inform, entertain, persuade?
A - Audience
- Is it for a general public? Is it for an academic audience?
R - References
- Does the author credit other trustworthy sources?
T - Timeliness
- When was it published?

Scholarly sources usually undergo peer review. If a source is peer-reviewed, it has been reviewed by a board of other experts in the author's field to confirm the source's validity.

Video courtesy of University of South Australia

Recommended Resources to Find Scholarly Articles

Use these databases to find scholarly articles and explore SCAD Libraries' other scholarly journal databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Index of academic publications that includes books, articles, conference procedings, and other literature
Google Scholar enables searching of millions of articles, citations, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universites, and other websites. Use "find in a library" to check an article's availability at SCAD and libraries near you.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database of full-text articles and abstracts across many disciplines, combining contents from other full-text EBSCO databases.
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Finding and Using Library Resources

Contact SCAD Libraries

Need Additional Help? Meet With A Librarian

Scholarly Articles

What makes an article scholarly?

Why use scholarly sources?

Source Evaluation

Need help identifying if an article is trustworthy and scholarly?

Pull the Source 'APART'

Scholarly sources usually undergo peer review. If a source is peer-reviewed, it has been reviewed by a board of other experts in the author's field to confirm the source's validity.

Recommended Resources to Find Scholarly Articles

Use these databases to find scholarly articles and explore SCAD Libraries' other scholarly journal databases.