Research Guides: Finding and Using Library Resources: Trade Publication Articles

Trade Articles

What makes an article source trade?

It is written by professionals in that subject area or industry.
It uses field-specific language.

Why use trade publications?

They are excellent sources of industry-specific news
They are written, most of the time, by working professionals in the field.

Business of Fashion (BoF)

Business of Fashion
Daily resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs in over 200 countries.

Recommended Resources to Find Trade Articles

Use these databases to find trade articles and explore SCAD Libraries' other trade magazine & journal databases.

AdForum This link opens in a new window
Web resource for advertising industry professionals that contains advertising company profiles and ad campaigns. AdForum also provides access to professional profiles and a creative library containing the newest and best work in the industry.
The Company Profile section of AdForum contains company information for over 25,000 agencies and 9,000 production companies. The Creative Library contains over 200,000 past advertising campaign works all credited to their creators. AdForum also contains the latest advertising industry news, job information, commercials, ad campaigns, blogs, and more.
Building Green This link opens in a new window
Online platform providing comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials.
BuildingGreen is a trusted online source on healthy and sustainable design and construction strategies. BuildingGreen shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field and provides context and criteria for sustainable design strategies. Readers of BuildingGreen.com enjoy daily news coverage and deeper analysis of strategies, policies, and programs in addition to information about green products and materials. For more information about using BuildingGreen, visit: BuildingGreen FAQs.
Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Online resource for apparel and textile professionals focused on sourcing and manufacturing.
Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Sourcing Journal knows that intelligent business decisions are based on strategic, time-sensitive information. This database contains fashion business news, apparel, denim, footwear, and textile reports, webinars, podcasts, market, material, industry, and sourcing data.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Database of research, case studies, and business intelligence in advertising and marketing from the United States and other major global markets.
WARC provides business intelligence, reports, case studies, news briefings, and more. WARCs industry, category, and consumer insights and best practices are used by advertising agencies and marketing professionals to optimize their operations for brand-building and effectiveness. The database provides access to over 18,000 case studies, the latest research from across the marketing industry, and best practice from leaders in marketing. For help using WARC, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.